Reader Reviews of Tom Watson's Man Shoes

Thank you for "Man Shoes" October 25, 2012

That was a very meaningful book I just read. I laughed. I cried. Most importantly it has encouraged me to strive for excellence as a husband and father. I read a lot and no words (other than scripture) in recent memory have impacted me the way Man Shoes has.

Thank you.

Daniel

Growing into your "Man Shoes" April 9, 2012

Man Shoes is an inspirational story about a man who was a neglected and abused as a child. He grew to see his worth as a person of possibilities ONLY when some very special people helped him grow into his "Man Shoes". I enjoyed this book. It is very emotional, so make sure to grab some tissues before reading! I laughed, cried, then laughed and cried some more (my kids were concerned until I told them I was reading a very good book).

I applaud the author Tom Watson for writing about such a painful and sensitive subject. It could not have been easy for him, yet his book is inspirational to so many people. I can honestly say that this is a book that both Men and Women will learn something from.

I definitely recommend this book. Whether you have had your own challenges to overcome, or know someone who does. You impact the lives of those around you, and this book shows the reader how influential each person can be.

MomBlogger "Susan MomBlogger" (Illinois, USA)

Great Read Jan 21 2012

Man Shoes is a very heartwarming and thought provoking story. I couldn't put this book down once I started reading it. I love how Tom shares his personal ups and downs on parenting, marriage and life, as well as his own upbringing in foster care and finally a forever home.

Man Shoes is a powerful read, and will definitely have you thinking of how you can do better with your own family.

Sappell

What a story! Jan 18 2012

What a story! Emotional rollercoaster. If I wouldn't have read the book, I wouldn't have believed Tom's story happened that way. All the better for the fact that I spent two and a half years in high school with Tom. Never knew how Tom's life turned out after grad.

Ken H

Great story., Jan 10 2012

In thinking I probably never have time to relax and read a good book I decided to 'check out' a few pages of the book "Man Shoes". I read approximately 3 pages and my eyes welled with tears and then a few more pages I burst into laughter---needless to say my daughter who was studying thought I totally lost my mind!

I soon was absorbed in the life of Tom Watson and read this book enthusiastically enjoying his recap of his childhood as well as his adult life. After completing the book I wondered if I actually am doing all I can do to fill my own 'man shoes'.
Thank you,

Eileen R, Manitoba Branch Manager

Man Shoes not just for Men., Dec 20 2011

Wonderful Book, Shouldn't have started it so late at night. I couldn't put it down. So great to see such a positive outcome from such a unfavourable start. Will gift this to my brothers, sisters and friends. The Watson Family were simply amazing role models to a young boy who is now an amazing role model to his sons.

Gary(Fort McMurray, Alberta Canada)

A Great Book!, November 26 2011

This was a great story that was so inspirational. As a reader you are brought into the story and able to see how one man has taken the pieces of his life and made himself a better person overall. On top of this though the book make you re-examine your own life and think about how you too can go through a similar transformation.

What I loved about the book was how the author allows you to truly feel the passion and love that he had for the people that entered his life. For me, I can only hope that I can be half the man that Tom has become and show that much love too.

The book is set up to help you on your own journey giving you suggestions in each chapter which allow you to examine your own life and do what you need to be able to move yourself forward.

No matter if you are a man or a woman, this book is one that I would highly recommend!

Dad of Divas

Man Shoes, November 21 2011

Tom Watson wrote a compelling story of his life. He was in foster care and overcame a lot of adversity. He married the love of his life and showed great love and compassion as she became seriously ill and died. It is a great read.

Lewis H. Groberg(Oregon)

Honest and Heartwarming, November 5 2011

Tom shares the story of his life. In the midst of the struggles, pain and joy we see how it is possible to make it through any experience life throws at us. Tom shares in a vulnerable honest way that is refreshing and appreciated. In the midst of the story, we can all learn how to be a better man, husband and father.

Shawn

Great read! Must have for parents and spouses! , October 26 2011

Even though I normally only review books for children or young adults, I jumped at the chance to read and review Tom Watson's new book, `Man Shoes, The Journey to Becoming a Better Man, Husband and Father'. As a foster parent myself, I love to read inspiring true stories of former foster children who have beat the odds and went on to break the cycle of abuse and neglect.

As Tom Watson describes in his book, he definitely had a rough start to life. By the time he was five years old, he had already been in 13 different foster homes and suffered severe neglect and abuse, both at the hands of his biological family and from some of the foster homes that were supposed to be helping him. Mercifully, at the age of five, Tom finally found a real home, one that would eventually adopt him. The Watson family showed Tom all of the love, acceptance, kindness and support that he had always lacked.

Of course, no child changes overnight, so over the remainder of his childhood, Tom struggled with many of the same issues many other children with traumatic backgrounds endure. Even with the love and support of a stable home, it wasn't until many years later that Tom Watson started to really change from the inside. With the help of his wife and later his own children, Tom finally grew into the person that he was always meant to be, a great man, husband and father.

Of course, no life journey is without its tragedies and failures, but overall this story is an inspiring, beautiful story about healing and the search for a better way of life. This book touched my heart in a way that is rarely achieved, and gave me hope that the children I am sharing my life with will have the opportunity to grow into the kind of adults I know they could be. Tom Watson is a great example of what loving foster and adoptive parents hope to do for the life of a hurting child.

I would definitely recommend this book to any parent or spouse, regardless of whether they come from a background like Tom's. I truly believe that anyone could find encouragement and wisdom within the pages of this great memoir.

Maranda Russell

Man Shoes, November 28 2011

I read Man Shoes cover to cover in one afternoon. I couldn't put it down. Tom's story is an inspiring, uplifting, dig deep, do it for your life and your family read. It touched my heart profoundly as it mirrored a few of my own life chapters. I laughed til I cried, from the hilarious to the bottom side of loss, letting go and finding life. From Dad shot Santa, to Tom's son helping him choose life, to Hockey Night in Canada and the last week's of his Dad's life. Every Man in search of his shoes and every woman who loves him, will get so much from this incredible story! Thanks for writing such an honest book. I'm excited to read "Grandpa Shoes" when Tom hits 80! Matt Hill Founder: Run for One Planet

Runnerman

Man Shoes, November 21 2011

Very very inspiring!!!!! Truly a great read, finished it in 2 days, could not put it down!!!! Living my life a little differently, appreciating the little things in life after reading this book!!!

Cathy

Growing In To Man Shoes, October 5, 2011

Tom Watson's book, Man Shoes-The Journey To Becoming A Better Man, Husband & Father, is an inspirational story about the legacy we leave through our interactions with others. Tom had a challenging beginning from his birth to parents ill prepared to raise a child through his tween years. As a neglected an abused child, he developed patterns of chaos and self-defeating behaviors. He began to see his worth as a person of possibilities ONLY when his final foster parents and some very special individuals invested time, wisdom and unconditional love, by helping him grow into his "Man Shoes". He makes the analogy of his shoe shopping experiences with his foster mother (purchasing the next larger size). He connects it to his physical, spiritual and emotional growth into his Man Shoes as a way of understanding that we must always leave room to grow in our life circumstances. While purchasing shoes that fit, at that moment in time, it would not leave any room to grow. However by purchasing the next larger size he could grow into them. His reasoning is that while it might be comfortable...it may not be all that he truly needed. In life, being slightly uncomfortable in some situations can leave room to grow into the person that you are destined to become with the right encouragement, emotional support and teaching. I would recommend this book highly to anyone who has challenges to overcome, lives to impact and influence and to anyone wishing to live a more fulfilling life.

WritewhereUr (USA)

Emotional and Inspiring!, October 2, 2011

As a woman, I wasn't sure this book would really be relevant to me, but I decided to give it a chance. It's always nice to have another perspective. I devoured this book the day it arrived. In the span of the two hours it took me to finish this book, I laughed, and cried, and laughed, and cried some more! It's very emotional so I do recommend a box of tissues.

Danielle McCoy

Do not miss reading this book!!!, May 22, 2011

We all need to thank the author for having the courage to write so profoundly about his life and both the highs and the lows throughout it.

There are so many, many lessons to be learned as a result of this book. It is the kind you will read and re-read again and certainly recommend to others.

Through all his struggles he learned valuable lessons along the way, from many different individuals in his life and now we have the opportunity to learn how to make our lives better. We all need to surround ourselves with eagles.

Thanks to the author.

Waterfront

Man Shoes, September 13, 2011

We all become better men, husbands and fathers in different ways. I think that is largely because we are all raised differently. For example, a young boy who has the love and support of his father, can make an easier transition to being a better man, husband and father, than say, a young boy who was raised primarily by his mother, even though the father may or may not have been there. A harsh father leaves scars on his son that he will most likely carry into his other relationships of being a husband and a father. And so it goes.

What would it be like to go from foster home to foster home; be seen as a real "problem student" in school (and spending countless visits with the principal?); at the age of five being placed in the home of an aged pastor and his wife where you find love and acceptance; marry and father two children only to watch your wife die at a very early age; raise two boys by yourself; find someone to love again & father another child; and to lead a productive life? If you are like me and have no clue how to answer those questions, then this book, Man Shoes, is a book you would be interested in. The best way to describe this book is to borrow a word from the subtitle on the front cover: it is a journey. It is Tom Watson's journey from being an unwanted child put in foster home after foster home, until he is placed in Mr. and Mrs. Watson's home. The Watson's were a clergy couple in their 50s who took Tom in and loved him. One of the most touching moments of the book was when Tom was finally able to tell Mrs. Watson he loved her. It would be great to say that all was well after that, but I would be lying. Tom's life continued to be a journey throughout his youth; through his teen years and into his first marriage and the birth of his two children. I would give away too much of the story if I said much more about the rest of his journey. It is much better listening to him tell it. Eight years ago, while in his 40s, Tom had a stroke. That is what largely prompted him to write this journey...so his sons would know him.

I received this book from another blogger with no strings attached. I was unsure about it because I had never heard of Tom Watson. Not only am I glad I read it (and it reads very easily), I highly recommend that you do the same. It is written for men, but it is also for the women who love them.

Bill Grandi "(cycleguy)" (Spencer, IN USA)

Great book, September 8, 2011

I loved how Tom Watson wrote this book to give us a glimpse into his life and how we can all learn from his experiences. I know for me there were a few chapters that just hit home with me and I was able to get another view on how to deal with those situations. I will recommend this book to any guy out there looking to better their own life.

Steve S

Great Story!   June 27, 2011

Once I picked it up I couldn't put it down! Tom has been through a lot in his life and is an example of the fact that it is not what happens to you in life but how you choose to deal with it. Each chapter has great suggestions for the reader to use in his / her life. Enjoy the read - I did.

David

A compelling story of life, lessons, survival and growth  June 20, 2011

As a fellow "survivor" of growing up through challenges, Tom's real story resonated with truth and emotion about life, love, fear, honesty, laughter, tears, challenges and successes. For every parent, spouse or child, this story hits home and reminds us all of the different challenges we may face in life, how we can choose to become who we really want to be and make a real difference to our Families and those we love. I read so many things that reminded me of similar "wow" moments with my own life, my kids, and my Family. It brought me back to feelings of strength, courage and caring.....all qualities I hope have been passed on to my kids through there own challenges in life.

Through Tom's unique storytelling, "keeping it real" the whole way along, you'll laugh, cry and learn to appreciate life even more than today, but most of all, you'll want to share what you read.

Man or Woman, Parent or Child, read this book. It will remind you that love CAN conquer all.

Selective Reader

Man Shoes is a MUST read!!   May 30, 2011

I love sitting down with a book that makes me feel. Man Shoes ran my emotions through laughing loud to the depths of despair. Tom Watson is a master storyteller. He doesn't just tell a story, he teaches us all how to overcome obstacles in our lives and become a better person. I highly recommend this amazing book!

Diana

Powerful and moving   May 25, 2011

Manshoes is a powerful and moving experience. Tom Watson shares in a transparent, inspirational and entertaining way some of the exceptional moments in his incredible journey from being a mistreated foster kid to being a very successful entrepreneur, father, husband, and more. His stories will make you laugh and cry. Two thumbs up! It's a good read for anyone, but especially for men because it will motivate you in your own experience.

Larry Eide

If you like stories, you are going to love this book, June 12, 2011

This book is written through the hands of a story teller. If you like stories (which I do), you will love this book. Tom Watson shares stories from his life. Stories that make you laugh so hard you almost pee your pants, and stories that make you cry so hard that your book could float in a puddle of tears. Through all of it though, the author guides men on a journey to strengthen their own family. This book forces you to consider what really matters in life. This book is an easy and enjoyable read, and a real page turner as each story leads to the next. Most important however, the book provides tangible action steps to create family traditions that strengthen the bond of your family.

Adam

Fantastic Read!, May 23, 2011

Wow. I'm not sure I have ever read a book that had me laughing, crying and experiencing so many emotions through each and every chapter. I have not faced nearly the hardships that Tom Watson has - but I felt all of his triumphs and hardships almost personally - he so totally pulled me into his story. I feel strongly that he has taught me many lessons through the learning of his own. This is a book to re-read whenever life gets you down - to remind us all that we can all triumph and that we are not alone.

Thanks to the author - for sharing. This book is an inspiration.

Kelowna Reader (BC, Canada)

GREAT BOOK!, June 5, 2011

I really enjoyed reading this book. The author has a great sense of humor. I'll recommend it to my friends!

Jordan

Amazing Book, June 3, 2011

What a wonderful and inspiring story of a Man's journey through life. I found the stories of Tom Watson's experiences both extremely sad and incredibly rewarding. It is a book that we can all relate to as we move through this life and find our way, despite the challenges we endure. The author has the ability to reel you in with his sense of humor and willingness to share the difficult times and the victories. As a father, husband and entrepreneur, I could relate to many of his (the author's) stories. A great read for anyone that wants to grow as a person and leave this world a better place.

Warren Kindellan (Langley, BC)

Great Read, June 1, 2011

This is a must read book for summer. Writer Tom Watson's memorable biography really gets to the heart of life's journey. Man Shoes is a brave novel and Watson's stories allow us to bear witness and relate to his passion for his family and community. The contributions from this book that people will talk about is that life is never just about one person or one idea, but about a whole community of people, of shared ideas and shared influences that shape us when we open ourselves up to new experiences.

Jessica Brown

Very Inspiring, May 29, 2011

We all face challenges, however after reading Tom Watson's book Man Shoes it gave me a better perspective on my own life. I realized that if an ordinary guy like Tom could overcome his enormous challenges, I could do the same. The book inspired me and showed me how I could grow beyond the many changes I face in my life. It's a great read for men and women...I couldn't put it down!

Gary

Highly recommend this inspirational book, May 27, 2011

After reading Tom Watson's book, "Man Shoes," I was truly amazed how he not only survived being a foster child and an abused one at that, but instead of becoming a victim of his situation, how he made the pivotal choice to turn his life around. His story is one of great inspiration and teaches us that we all have choices to make in life and those choices will determine whether our lives will be a failure or a great success like Watson's. I highly recommend this book!

Marsha Friedman

The best book I've read in a long time, May 24, 2011

First of all, I'd like to start with the fact that Man Shoes is NOT only written for men! This book made me laugh and cry all in one sitting. Tom's story is touching, funny, inspiring and then some. I have suggested Man Shoes to both men AND women in my life because there is no one who can't learn from Mr. Watson. Definitely worth reading... I can guarantee you won't want to put it down.

Rmack

Very Insightful, August 18, 2011

This book made me laugh, cry and learn... I feel like I am forever changed by Man Shoes. Tom Watson "gets it" and uses is story to show other how to do the same. I recommend this book for anyone who wants to be better. I will take what I have learned from Man Shoes and implement the lessons in my everyday relationships. Great read!

FtBall412

Stories that touch our heart and soul, August 2, 2011

A unique love story unfolds between Tom Watson and the people who entered his life. Through difficult and challenging experiences, Tom found a way to the find positives in every relationship. The stories in this book are ones that we can relate to regardless of age or gender. This is a must read for anyone with a relationship!

Nathan (Vernon, BC Canada)

Man Shoes, July 26, 2011

This book made me laugh and cry. As I read this story I thought of my time as a son, brother, husband and a father and realized the story that I was living made an impact. Some roads are smooth and some are rough. I would say that Tom's road was challenging and I am glad that I read this book. Read it!!

Jim Raddysh

Man Shoes, June 19, 2011

Well, A very refreshing look into the personal life's journey of a true sole...I see the author has been through a lot of varied experiences, both good and bad, and humorously keeps a good viewpoint and seeks a balanced life. "Man Shoes" is very refreshing and explores detailed accounts of one's journey through various life's events and seasons revealing the heart and sole of a true "Man." .. very well done, hope to read more in a revised and expanded second edition.

Poor Man

trying to fill the shoes, August 24, 2011

I enjoyed this book. It may seem like a simple story, but it's so deep on so many different levels, and from one page to another you don't know whether you're going to be laughing or crying. It's hard to categorize: it's a story, an autobiography. a mentoring guide, a guide to help men get in touch with their inner something.

It teaches lessons about life and how to deal with it on its own terms, and Tom reminds us once again that we're not in this alone. We don't have to go through the pain alone, and the joy is so much more joyful when it's shared.

My prayer is that all men would be blessed to have some man shoes to grow into, and that they would wear them in such a way that someone else would later want to grow into them

Karl Dumas

A touching read of fatherhood and marriage and what it takes to be a man, August 16, 2011

What it means to be a man and father is something that many men are unsure of. "Man Shoes: The Journey to Becoming a Better Man, Husband, & Father" is Tom Watson's own coming to understanding of what it means to be a father, husband, and a man in today's world. Without a good role model to follow, he came from a broken childhood himself and tried to construct something better for the children who followed him. "Man Shoes" is a touching read of fatherhood and marriage and what it takes to be a man.

Midwest Book Review (Oregon, WI USA)

Great Book, July 10, 2011

Some of the stories found in Man Shoes are still resonating with me, being both remarkable and memorable. A father myself, I found some very good "food for thought" for raising kids while trying to maintain a healthy relationship with my spouse.

Highly recommended read for all fathers.

Vince

Must Read, May 25, 2011

Tom Watson's story is one that truly touches you on a deeper level than many books. Honest and genuinely written, Man Shoes was impossible to put down and once I did, I handed it to my boyfriend who loved it as much as I did. I looked at the website and they are right in that this book is perfect for men and the women who love them. What an awesome and moving book.

Yolanda Harris

Awesome Read!, May 24, 2011

Once in awhile amid the hectic pace of life, we all need to take a moment to rest and reflect on our lives. Reading Man Shoes gave me that opportunity. Tom Watson tells his story so well that I found it impossible to put the book down until I was finished. As I read through each chapter, Tom's life stories and experiences made me think about my own life, my own family and loved ones, my own struggles, my own triumphs and all the gifts that my life journey have brought to me. This author reminded me to be thankful for all that life brings, both good and bad, and to never forget to enjoy the ride. I especially enjoyed his crazy spin on traditions. Well done!

Mel Emery

Powerful., May 30 2011

The story of this man's life will help people who are struggling with their own problems. When times become difficult you will be able to gain strength to push forward. The many ups and downs will have you feeling like you are there with the author through a half century of tests. Life is not always easy and those who have been through what this man has survived are inspirations.

Rose

A must read for everyone, May 24 2011

This man has opened his life for all of us to learn. I laughed, I cried, I have told the stories to anyone who would listen and recommended the book to all. This will be a book you want to keep on your shelf to read and re-read again. It will be the one you go to when things in your own life seem difficult as this book has your answer. A true survivor story, not only a survivor but someone who has thrived and has decided to tell the most difficult parts of his life for all of us to learn from. A big thank you to the author.

Edgwater

An amazing story, Jun 15 2011

I could not put this book down! It's an inspirational read for any one facing challenges at any stage of their life. These heart warming stories reassure that faith is such a strong essential element, not only our biggest challenges, but in our day to day life stuff. It also speaks about true friendships, fun family traditions, the bond between parents and their kids, and that we can only grow from our mistakes.

As a Nurse, I see first hand, the suffering families go through when a loved one is taken from them. The process of accepting any kind of loss is tough on any one. However, after already facing so much adversity, it was unbelievable to see how he has come through it all with such a positive attitude.

The lessons you'll get from this book will be life changing!

After reading this book, you can't help wanting to be a better person. The author has written his story is such a way that touches the heart, like no other true story I've read.

Thanks for sharing your amazing story!

Leisa Cadotte, LPN ~ Surgical Unit - Langley Memorial Hospital, BC

Great Book!!, Jun 8 2011

Tom Watson makes his stories come alive. I really enjoyed his sense of humour, and really felt his pain. A book that I could really relate to, a great story, with a great message.

Hal Jenner

Great read!, Jun 1 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed reading MAN SHOES. This author can really draw you in with his story-telling style. I laughed at his funny stories, and cried at his heartbreak. But most of all, I learned through his experiences that we all, regardless of our circumstances, can overcome and triumph. This is a great story, well written, and one that I will recommend to others, and read again!

LUKE123

Man Shoes, May 31 2011

This book is truly inspiring and the fact that it is based on a true story about how even in the most challenging and oppressed home rearing environment, a troubled boy given an opportunity can grow to become a man of inspiration for others. Man Shoes will give you an honest opportunity to reflect on your own life's experiences and tap into more of your potential. I highly recommend this book, it was an emotional and thoughtful read and I congratulate the author for his courage and integrity to stand up and share his story with such truthful purpose.

Kenny

Man Shoes, Aug 29 2011

This is an incredible book about a young boy surviving an unfortunate beginning in life and thriving as an adult, husband and parent. Tom Watson is a talented story teller. As a busy working mother of two kids, I don't often find time to read for pleasure, but this book was impossible to put down. It's inspiring to learn of someone who has had such hardship in life and still be so thankful and optimistic. A must read for parents to children of any age!

Dina

Inspiring and uplifting, July 6 2011

I absolutely could not put this book down. I would recommend this book to any father, husband, or wife. It helps put life in perspective and reminds people what is important. Tom Watson draws you into his life by providing detailed descriptions as his life as a young boy, teen, husband, and father. His advice to husbands and fathers is to build a strong foundation for your family by putting your wife first. This provides your children with a stable and loving home with an example to follow on how to treat others.

Melissa Hayden

GREAT BOOK!!!, Jun 29 2011

I enjoyed this book ' great stories ' easy to read ' entertaining AND heartfelt. I would totally recommend it to others ' great lessons we all need to be reminded of.

Brenda

Inspiring, Jun 28 2011

Tom is a great storyteller that has you laughing and crying at the same time. A story of loss, love, laughter and great wisdom this is a story that touches your soul. At the same time it motivates you to step up to life's challenges and get on with it and to appreciate all of life's blessings and simplicities. Bravo Tom! Thanks for sharing your story. This is a must read.

Stilllife789

Touching, Jun 3 2011

I couldn't put down Man Shoes, I laughed, I cried, I wished that I had read this book when I was starting out as a parent. I think that this is a must read for all parents especially new parents. It takes a very brave person to share what Tom has shared, I hope that I can take some of his wisdom and use it with my own family.. Thank You Tom

kellyb

Loved it!, Jun 1 2011

MAN SHOES was a fantastic read. I love laughing and crying when I read a story. And I sure did my share with this one!! I enjoyed the author's style of story-telling - and his sense of humour. But the coolest part is that his underlying message has stayed with me, and I have made changes in my own life since reading it. THAT is the sign of a GREAT book. One that has an impact on how you look at life AND actually motivates you to make positive changes.

Thanks for writing this inspiring book!

Kelowna Reader (BC, Canada)

Very inspiring., Sep 20 2011

Not just for men...but highly recommended for every dad. The author is an engaging story-teller and uncommonly candid about life, loss, parenting, marriage and his own spiritual journey. It's a very inspiring read!

joe

Stories that touch our hearts and souls, Aug 2 2011

A unique love story unfolds between Tom Watson and the people who entered his life. Through difficult and challenging experiences, Tom found a way to the find positives in every relationship. The stories in this book are ones that we can relate to regardless of age or gender. A must read for anyone with a relationship!

Nathan (Vernon, BC Canada)

Man Shoes - Not just for men!, July 16 2011

One of those books that you cannot put down! This life story not only kept me on the edge of my seat, but both challenged me and inspired me to be a better parent and mate. It also made me look at my own life, and to evaluate how I am influencing others. If you are like me, you will end up buying several copies and then after you read your own you will pass it on to a friend.

Wes F Irwin

MAN SHOES, Jun 26 2011

It was like the author was reading "Man Shoes" to me through the pages. From moments of laughter to sobbing with tears a truly touching story of life and love. It is wonderful to see the story unfold from the days of Tom's childhood to the positive home he has created with his family today. A truly enjoyable read for everyone.

Island Girl